alien righteousness

Why We Love Martin Luther (2)

“I was a good monk and kept my order so strictly that I could claim that if ever a monk were able to reach heaven by monkish discipline I should have found my way there. All my fellows in the house who knew me, would bear me out in this. For if it had continued much long I would, what with vigils, prayers, readings and other such works, have done myself to death.” – Martin Luther

“I do not seek my own active righteousness. I ought to have and perform it; but I declare that even if I did have it and perform it, I cannot trust in it or stand up before the judgment of God on the basis of it. This I embrace only the righteousness of Christ which we do not perform but receive, which we do not have but accept, when God the Father grants it to us through Jesus Christ.” -Martin Luther in one of his lectures on Galatians.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

